The history of our building is unique in that it is one of the oldest surviving buildings in the town, built in 1694 when the surrounding areas were a mixture of small alleyways and cottages for working people.
The congregation was founded by Reverend John Billingsley in 1662 having previously been employed as vicar of Chesterfield Parish Church from 1653. A detailed printed history is available in the chapel for a small charge.